A closer look at Persian Carpets

I have been enjoying looking closely at my Persian Carpets (Zinnia haageana).   The strain is a mix of flower forms from single to doubles and plain flat petals to corrugated and contorted.  Colors range from pure yellows, oranges and burgundies to various combinations of patterns, the dominant pattern being a dark base with light colored petal tips.  I have created a Persian Carpet Gallery for the various forms I’m seeing.

This is a more atypical informal form I’ve discovered that has a very attractive heavily toothed petal that is slightly twisted.  I particularly like the subtle orange base blending to yellow edges.

Persian Carpet 062009 009a 850

Leave a Reply

