Zinnia Flower Development

This is the first year that I have seriously grown zinnias with the intent of  learning about their development, culture, and diversity.  I would like to start developing my own strains of unusual zinnia flower types.  As with most things, it is one thing the read about a subject and quite often another thing to actually get your hands dirty and see for yourself what it’s all about.  Zinnias are no exception and I’ve used my camera to help me observe these plants closely. 

One thing I wanted to learn was how the flowers develop and mature.  An early flowering Zowie hybrid was selected for the photographic study.  I hope you learn and enjoy from it as well.

I have created a zinnia photo gallery to hold the pictures of interesting flowers from this years garden.

June 28 - early flower bud

May 28 - early flower bud

June 1- early morning bud

June 1- early morning bud

June 1 - early morning

June 1 - early morning

June 1 - late evening

June 1 - late evening

June 2

June 2

June 3

June 3

June 4

June 4

June 5

June 5

June 6

June 6

Leave a Reply

