Assassin bug at work….

I made a trip to the lower Mobile delta, along the causeway, to collect river cane poles for my Japanese Morning Glories.  I use them to give the Asagao something to climb.  I really like using cane as it is long enough for the most vigorous plants, strong enough to support a wet plant in normal weather,  it lasts for one year at least, and most of all its free!  I also think it adds a nice touch to the photographs of the flowers; much better for sure than just twine, string or wire……a natural touch with a hint of the orient.

After I completed cutting and gathering the cane, I grabbed my camera to document a white flowered vine that was quite prevalent.  I find that good pictures really help in identifying a new plant to me.  It was then that I came upon this assassin bug with its prey.  By the time I got the camera set properly it was de-coupled and the nymph was trying to escape.  Here are the couple pictures I took:

Assassin bug chasing the escapee

Assassin bug chasing the escapee

..notice the large drop of yellow directly under the Assassin bug..

..notice the large yellow drop directly beneath the Assassin bug..

Underside of Assassin bug

Underside of Assassin bug

..the mortaly wounded nymph

..the mortally wounded nymph

General view of the habitat

General view of the habitat

Leave a Reply

